Banner Image

Conn Smythe Trophy Odds: MacKinnon Takes Lead After Hat Trick

On this page

With Round 2 winding down, the Conn Smythe Trophy odds board is littered with stars from the Stanley Cup betting favorites, with Nathan MacKinnon taking over the No. 1 spot after notching a hat trick in Game 5 against the Blues.

Last Updated: May 27, 2022 3:22 PM ET Read Time: 3 min
Nathan MacKinnon Cale Makar Colorado Avalanche NHL Conn Smythe Trophy
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The second round of the 2022 NHL Playoffs is almost over, with stars from the top squads rising to the top of the Conn Smythe Trophy odds board.

The Colorado Avalanche remain odds-on favorites in our Stanley Cup odds board, meaning the Conn Smythe board understandably centers around the best player from the West's top seed, while Tampa Bay's star goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy and forward Nikita Kucherov have also made jumps into the top betting spots out East.

Connor McDavid (+500) has also made some noise of his own as Edmonton successfully advanced to the third round on Thursday.  

Here are our latest NHL playoff MVP odds for who will win the Conn Smythe Trophy. 

2022 Conn Smythe Trophy odds

Player Odds to win
Nathan MacKinnon +330
Connor McDavid +500
Cale Makar +550
Andrei Vasilevskiy +550
Nikita Kucherov +900
Victor Hedman +1,200
Gabriel Landeskog +2,000
Antti Raanta +2,000
Sebastian Aho +2,000
Darcy Kuemper +2,200
Steven Stamkos +2,200
Mikko Rantanen +2,500
Igor Shesterkin +3,500
Evander Kane +4,000
Leon Draisaitl +4,000
Teuvo Teravainen +4,500
Jacob Slavin +5,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings, as of May 27, 2022.

Favorites to win the Conn Smythe Trophy

Nathan MacKinnon (+330)

MacKinnon's teammate Cale Makar had been the consensus betting favorite to win the Conn Smythe for much of the playoffs, but that changed after Wednesday night. No, the Avalanche weren't able to vanquish the St. Louis Blues in Game 5, but MacKinnon did everything he could to put the series away.

He potted three goals and added an assist in the 5-4 overtime loss, upping his production to match Makar for the team lead in points with 13 through nine games. The Avalanche remain the betting favorites to win the Stanley Cup, and MacKinnon might be the driving force behind that becoming a reality.

Connor McDavid (+500)

McDavid jumped in the odds over Makar last night following his game-winner in overtime against the Flames. Thanks to McDavids's incredible postseason play consisting of 26 points in 12 games, the Oilers find themselves in the Western Conference Final. 

A McDavid vs. MacKinnon matchup would surely be one for the ages. 

Cale Makar (+550)

Makar finished the regular season second among defensemen in points, earning his second straight appearance as a Norris Trophy finalist, and he's picked up his game in the postseason. Through nine games, he has 13 points and is an absolute workhorse, averaging over 26 minutes of ice time per game.

If MacKinnon falters — or if the defenseman finds an extra gear — Makar has a great shot at winning the Conn Smythe, provided Colorado can follow through on its status as the betting favorite.

Understanding Conn Smythe Trophy odds

Sportsbooks will post Conn Smythe Trophy odds as early as the beginning of the playoffs. These NHL futures are constantly adjusted throughout the postseason depending on how well players perform as well as their team success. Sportsbooks will also adjust the NHL awards odds based on handle and liability to certain players.

Conn Smythe Trophy odds will usually look like this:

  • Nathan MacKinnon +325

This means that on a $100 bet, you'll stand to win $325 if MacKinnon takes home the Conn Smythe Trophy. If it's close to the end of the Stanley Cup playoffs and a player has stood out as the obvious MVP of the series they might have a minus sign (-) ahead of their odds like this: 

  • Nikita Kucherov -175

This means that if you bet on Kucherov to win the Conn Smythe Trophy, you would have needed to bet $175 to profit $100.

All of the odds listed above are in American format, but if you prefer decimal or fractional odds, simply plug them into our odds converter tool.

Conn Smythe Trophy Odds FAQs

Popular Content

Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo