Triple Crown Odds: Mystik Dan Denied

Triple Crown talk ended almost as soon as it began following Mystik Dan's loss in the 2024 Preakness Stakes just two weeks after his win in the 150th Kentucky Derby. We'll have the latest Triple Crown odds when they go live in 2025.

May 21, 2024 • 15:34 ET
Mystik Dan Kentucky Derby horse racing
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

The 150th Kentucky Derby took place on May 4, 2024 and produced a dramatic finish, with Mystik Dan emerging the winner by just a nose. However, he could not become the 14th horse to win the Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes, as Seize the Grey pulled off the upset in the middle jewel of the Triple Crown.

We'll take a long look at the 2025 Triple Crown odds when they become available.

2025 Triple Crown odds

Check back soon!

Best horse racing bonuses

FanDuel New Users
$500 No Sweat First Bet! Claim Now

bet365 New Users
Bet $5, get $150 in bonus bets! Claim Now

Eligible USA locations only. Also, see our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2024.
21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER

Past Triple Crown winners

There have been 13 Triple Crown winners in history, with two coming since 2015.

Year Horse Trainer
2018 Justify Bob Baffert
2015 American Pharoah Bob Baffert
1978 Affirmed Laz Barrera
1977 Seattle Slew William H. Turner, Jr.
1973 Secretariat Lucien Laurin
1948 Citation Horace A. "Jimmy" Jones
1946 Assault Max Hirsch
1943 Count Fleet Don Cameron
1941 Whirlaway Ben A. Jones
1937 War Admiral George Conway
1935 Omaha Jim Fitzsimmons
1930 Gallant Fox Jim Fitzsimmons
1919 Sir Barton H. Guy Bedwell

What is the Triple Crown?

For those not familiar with U.S. horse racing, the Triple Crown is the top honor awarded each year and goes to the three-year-old Thoroughbred horse who wins each of the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes.

The Triple Crown was first available to be won in 1875 but it wasn't until 1919 that it was first awarded as horse Sir Barton was able to win all three races.

The Triple Crown is usually awarded in June following the completion of the Belmont Stakes. 

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo