2022-23 NHL MVP Odds: McDavid Continues to Pace the Pack

Edmonton Oilers superstar Connor McDavid is favored to win the Hart Trophy at -700, with Nikita Kucherov and David Pastrnak a ways away. Check out the full odds breakdown of the 2022-23 NHL MVP.

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2023 10:20 AM ET Read Time: 4 min
Connor McDavid NHL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Connor McDavid looks to have the Hart Trophy wrapped up in a bow, sitting with -700 odds to take home the coveted trophy. Although it's fun to check out the daily NHL odds, futures markets can also provide plenty of value — and a season-long sweat.

Looking through the Hart Trophy MVP odds board, it's easy to find plenty of familiar names. But which player has the best odds to take home the prize, and which holds the best value? Let's take a look at the latest 2022-23 NHL MVP odds board as of January 10. Be sure to also check out our NHL player props along with our free NHL betting picks.

Odds to win 2022-23 NHL MVP award

Player Team Position MVP odds
Connor McDavid Oilers Edmonton Oilers C -700
David Pastrnak Bruins Boston Bruins RW +1,500
Nikita Kucherov Lightning Tampa Bay Lightning RW +2,200
Jason Robertson Stars Dallas Stars LW +2,500
Mikko Rantanen Avalanche Colorado Avalanche RW +2,500
Jack Hughes Devils New Jersey Devils C +3,500
Mitch Marner Maple Leafs Toronto Maple Leafs RW +5,000
Linus Ullmark Bruins Boston Bruins G +5,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings on January 31, 2023.

Best NHL bonuses

If you're signing up for a new sportsbook for the 2023 NHL season, here are two of the best bonuses* available:

A) New users at FanDuel can bet $5 and get $150 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

B) New users at DraftKings can bet $5 and get $200 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

*Eligible USA locations only. Also, check out our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2023.

Favorite to win the NHL MVP award

Connor McDavid (-700)

Connor McDavid is the best player in the world, there's simply no denying that. He leads the league in points (92) and goals (41) shifting his MVP odds from +180 to -700 with McDavid back on a 12-game point streak.

With such a drastic difference between first and second, you would have to think at this point the only thing stopping "McJesus" from winning the Hart would be an early offseason.

David Pastrnak (+1,500)

So many times throughout sports, we've seen the league's MVP award go to the best player on the best team, and we may have that here with David Pastrnak.

"Pasta" is fourth in the league in points (71), second in goals (38) and leads his team in scoring by a whopping 25 points. At this point, it's hard to see anyone but McDavid winning the award, but crazier things have happened.

Nikita Kucherov (+2,200)

After several years of dealing with injuries in the regular season, Nikita Kucherov is reminding us just how dominant he is. The right winger has 72 points in 48 games and remains a focal point for the success of this Tampa squad.

Understanding NHL MVP odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When the regular season is nearly finished and a consensus has emerged, you might see a player with a minus sign (-) ahead of his odds, like this:

  • Connor McDavid -400

The (-) means that McDavid is the odds-on favorite, and a bettor would need to wager $400 to win $100. Other contenders in the MVP race might have plus (+) odds to win.

  • Nathan MacKinnon +650

Here, a bettor stood to profit $650 for every $100 wagered. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

NHL Hart Trophy trends

  • The last player to win the Hart Trophy and Stanley Cup in a single season was Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis (2004).
  • Carey Price was the last goaltender (2015) to win the MVP award.
  • Alexander Ovechkin was the last player to repeat as the Hart winner (2008 and 2009).
  • Centers have won five of the last 10 MVP awards.
  • The last time a defenseman won the Hart Trophy was Chris Pronger back in the 1999-00 season.

NHL Hart Trophy history

A quick look at recent NHL MVPs and the position they played.

Season Player Position Team
2021-22 Auston Matthews Center Maple Leafs Toronto Maple Leafs
2020-21 Connor McDavid Center Oilers Edmonton Oilers
2019-20 Leon Draisaitl Center Oilers Edmonton Oilers
2018-19 Nikita Kucherov Right Wing Lightning Tampa Bay Lightning 
2017-18 Taylor Hall Left Wing Devils New Jersey Devils 
2016-17 Connor McDavid Center Oilers Edmonton Oilers
2015-16 Patrick Kane Right Wing Blackhawks Chicago Blackhawks 
2014-15 Carey Price Goalie  Canadiens Montreal Canadiens 
2013-14 Sidney Crosby Center Penguins Pittsburgh Penguins 
2012-13 Alexander Ovechkin Right Wing  Capitals Washington Capitals 
2011-12 Evgeni Malkin  Center  Penguins Pittsburgh Penguins 
2010-11 Corey Perry  Right Wing Ducks Anaheim Ducks 
2009-10 Henrik Sedin  Center  Canucks Vancouver Canucks
2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin Right Wing Capitals Washington Capitals 
2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin Right Wing Capitals Washington Capitals 
2006-07 Sidney Crosby Center Penguins Pittsburgh Penguins 
2005-06 Joe Thornton Center Bruins Boston Bruins/ Sharks San Jose Sharks 
2003-04 Martin St. Louis  Right Wing Lightning Tampa Bay Lightning 
2002-03 Peter Forsberg  Center Avalanche Colorado Avalanche 

NHL MVP award winners by position

Position Hart Trophy awards
Center 52
Right wing 18
Left wing 13
Goalie 8
Defenseman 7

Centers won the Hart Trophy 17 times over an 18-year period from 1979 to 1996. Wayne Gretzky personally skated away with the league's MVP award eight straight times during that era.

Hart Trophy Odds FAQs

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo