2024-25 NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award Odds: Can McCaffrey Go Back-To-Back?

Christian McCaffrey proved unstoppable this past season while playing for the San Francisco 49ers, and the superstar running back is favored to repeat as Offensive Player of the Year as we gear up for a new campaign.

May 14, 2024 • 12:04 ET • 4 min read
Christian McCaffrey San Francisco 49ers NFL
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Offensive Player of the Year honors have rarely been more tightly grouped, with the NFL in a passing boom challenging the dominance running backs have had with this award.

Last season, it was a back-and-forth competition between Christian McCaffrey and Tyreek Hill, as both dominated at the position for their respective teams.

NFL odds have already been released for next season's Offensive Player of the Year, and sure enough, CMC and "Cheetah" are back as the top favorites for 2024-25.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year odds

Player Team Position DraftKings
Christian McCaffrey Vikings San Francisco 49ers RB +650
Tyreek Hill Vikings Miami Dolphins WR +650
CeeDee Lamb Vikings Dallas Cowboys WR +850
Ja'Marr Chase Bengals Cincinnati Bengals WR +1,200
Justin Jefferson Vikings Minnesota Vikings WR +1,400
Saquon Barkley Eagles Philadelphia Eagles RB +1,600
Breece Hall Jets New York Jets RB +1,600
Bijan Robinson Rams Atlanta Falcons RB +2,000
Jonathan Taylor Colts Indianapolis Colts RB +2,500
Jahmyr Gibbs Lions Detroit Lions RB +2,500

Odds as of May 14, 2024.

Best NFL bonuses

FanDuel New Users
Bet $5+ on your first wager
Get $150 in bonus bets if you win! Claim Now

Favorites to win the NFL Offensive Player of the Year award

Christian McCaffrey (+650)

Christian McCaffrey was the main focal point of the San Francisco 49ers' offense this past season, averaging 5.4 yards per carry for an NFL-leading 1,459 rushing yards, along with 564 receiving yards and 21 touchdowns. In a league where running-back-by-committee gameplans have become commonplace, that's not the case for Kyle Shanahan's offense.

McCaffrey will now look to successfully defend his OPOY crown, which hasn't been done since Marshall Faulk won in both 2000 and 2001 as a member of the St. Louis Rams. 

Tyreek Hill (+650)

Tyreek Hill continues to show that he doesn't need Patrick Mahomes in order to put up godly Madden-like numbers.

"Cheetah" finished the season first in league receiving yards (1,799), to go along with 13 touchdowns. Mike McDaniel's playcalling for the Miami Dolphins offense continues to see Hill thriving as the No. 1 WR, as the speedy wideout was targeted 171 times. 

CeeDee Lamb (+850)

Any debate about whether CeeDee Lamb was a viable No. 1 WR was put to bed last season. The Dallas Cowboys star broke out for 135 receptions and 1,749 receiving yards in 2023-24, usurping Michael Irvin in both categories for the franchise record. 

With Michael Gallup departing in free agency and Brandin Cooks not getting any younger, Lamb will again be heavily relied upon to spring Dallas' offense this year. 

NFL Offensive Player of the Year betting trends

• Since this award was first given out in 1972, seven offensive players have claimed this award more than once. However, Jerry Rice is the only receiver to win it multiple times. 

• Only four receivers have won OPOY since '72, but three of the four (Michael Thomas, Cooper Kupp, and Justin Jefferson) have won it in the last four years.

• Among the 51 Offensive Player of the Year winners, 28 were named Most Valuable Player in the same season.

• Running backs have won OPOY the most, with 27, and quarterbacks are second with 20.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL OPOY winners since 2000 and the position they played.

Year NFL OPOY Award Winner Position
2023 Christian McCaffrey RB
2022 Justin Jefferson WR
2021 Cooper Kupp WR 
2020 Derrick Henry RB
2019 Michael Thomas WR 
2018 Patrick Mahomes QB
2017 Todd Gurley RB
2016 Matt Ryan QB
2015 Cam Newton QB
2014 DeMarco Murray RB
2013 Peyton Manning QB
2012 Adrian Peterson RB
2011 Drew Brees QB
2010 Tom Brady QB
2009 Chris Johnson RB
2008 Drew Brees QB
2007 Tom Brady QB
2006 LaDainian Tomlinson RB
2005 Shaun Alexander RB
2004 Peyton Manning QB
2003 Jamal Lewis RB
2002 Priest Holmes RB
2001 Marshall Faulk RB
2000 Marshall Faulk RB

Google News
Stay updated with the latest picks, odds, and news! Tap the star to add us to your favorites on Google News to never miss a story.


Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo