2022-23 NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award Odds: Pass Rushers Top the Board

Despite Nick Bosa claiming the NFL's top defensive prize last season, three different pass rushers are ahead of the 49ers' star in early 2023 Defensive Player of the Year odds.

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2023 7:27 AM ET Read Time: 4 min
Myles Garrett Cleveland Browns NFL DPOY
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

Defensive end Nick Bosa was finally able to secure his first Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2022, finishing the campaign as the league leader in sacks with 18.5.

Despite the San Francisco star's massive season on the gridiron, three different pass rushers line up ahead of him for next season's DPOY award. Find out more below as odds have already hit the board for the 2023 Defensive Player of the Year.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds

Player Team Position Odds
Myles Garrett Steelers Cleveland Browns DE +750
Micah Parsons Steelers Dallas Cowboys LB +750
T.J. Watt Steelers Pittsburgh Steelers LB +850
Nick Bosa Steelers San Francisco 49ers DE +1,000
Ahmad Gardner Steelers Seattle Seahawks CB +1,400
Maxx Crosby Steelers Las Vegas Raiders DE +1,500
Haason Reddick Steelers Philadelphia Eagles LB +2,000
Brian Burns Steelers Carolina Panthers DE +2,500
Aaron Donald Steelers Los Angeles Rams DT +2,500
Quinnen Williams Steelers New York jets DT +3,000
Aidan Hutchinson Steelers Detroit Lions DE +3,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook on March 28, 2023.

Best NFL bonuses

If you're signing up for a new sportsbook for the 2023 NFL season, here are two of the best bonuses* available:

A) New users at FanDuel can get a no-sweat first bet up to $1,000! Sign Up Now

B) New users at DraftKings can bet $5 and get $200 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

*Eligible USA locations only. Also, check out our full list of NFL promo codes for 2023.

Favorites to win the NFL Defensive Player of the Year award

Myles Garrett (+750)

The Cleveland Browns' defense ain't great, but defensive end Myles Garrett sure is.  

The 27-year-old continues to live up to his billing as a former No. 1 overall pick, having collected 74.5 sacks in just six seasons of NFL service.

Oddly enough, Garrett has yet to come away with Defensive Player of the Year, but will always be a top contender because of his innate ability to pressure the quarterback. 

Micah Parsons (+750)

After winning Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2021, Micah Parsons ended the 2022 season with 13.5 sacks for the Dallas Cowboys.

The star pass rusher tallied 13 in his rookie season, resulting in the former Penn State star being named first-team All-Pro. Considering he set a new career-high in sacks and the Cowboys once again reached the postseason in his sophomore year, there's no doubt that Parsons can set new career highs in 2023. 

T.J. Watt (+850)

T.J. Watt came away with the award in 2021, and if it wasn't for injuries last season, would have been a serious contender to repeat

The Pittsburgh Steelers defensive end suffered a pectoral injury in Week 1 against the Bengals and later underwent knee surgery in October. 

The five-time Pro Bowler ultimately appeared in just 10 games last season, totaling just 5.5 sacks. Considering Watt racked up a total of 22.5 a year prior, expect similar numbers when he returns to the field healthy in September. 

NFL Defensive Player of the Year betting trends

• Since this award was first given out in 1974, seven defensive players have claimed this award more than once. However, no defensive back has ever won it multiple times. 

• The NFL DPOY odds board is filled with pass rushers for 2023, which is little surprise given that eight of the last 10 winners of the award totaled at least 11 sacks.

• While voters for the NFL MVP Award seem to take team success into the equation, the same hasn't necessarily been true for DPOY accolades. Four of the last eight winners of the DPOY award were on defenses that ranked outside the Top 10.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL DPOY winners since 2000 and the position they played.

Year NFL DPOY Award Winner Position
2022 Nick Bosa DE
2021 T.J. Watt  Edge 
2020 Aaron Donald DT
2019 Stephon Gilmore CB
2018 Aaron Donald DT
2017 Aaron Donald DT
2016 Khalil Mack Edge
2015 J.J. Watt DE
2014 J.J. Watt DE
2013 Luke Kuechly LB
2012 J.J. Watt DE
2011 Terrell Suggs  Edge
2010 Troy Polamalu S
2009 Charles Woodson DB
2008 James Harrison Edge
2007 Bob Sanders S
2006 Jason Taylor Edge
2005 Brian Urlacher LB
2004 Ed Reed S
2003 Ray Lewis LB
2002 Derrick Brooks LB
2001 Michael Strahan DE
2000 Ray Lewis LB

NFL Defensive Player of the Year winners by position

Position Number of DPOY awards
Linebacker 17
Defensive end 13
Defensive tackle 10
Cornerback 6
Safety 5

Although linebackers have dominated this honor historically, defensive tackles have come on strongly lately, winning three of the last six NFL Defensive Player of the Year awards thanks to the dominance of Aaron Donald.


Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo