NBA Coach of the Year Odds: Mazzulla Still Tops at Halftime

Joe Mazzulla's got the Celtics back in peak form as the season hits its midway point, and has held off several contenders to remain the Coach of the Year odds favorite.

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2023 11:58 AM ET Read Time: 4 min
Joe Mazzulla NBA Coach of the Year odds
Photo By - USA TODAY Sports

NBA Coach of the Year rewards the bench boss who helps steer his team through adversity or exceeds expectations for the regular season.    

Heading into September, Boston Celtics coach Ime Udoka was the consensus NBA odds favorite to take home the honors, but after his preseason suspension, it's his replacement, Joe Mazzulla, who's got the Celtics in peak form at the season's halfway mark.

However, Mazzulla now has company atop the odds board from a fellow emergency hire. Let's take a look at the latest NBA Coach of the Year odds, and which contenders are making a lasting impact. 

Odds to win NBA Coach of the Year  

Coach Team Odds
Joe Mazzulla Browns Boston Celtics +190
Jacque Vaughn Browns Brooklyn Nets +320
Taylor Jenkins Browns Memphis Grizzlies +400
Michael Malone Browns Denver Nuggets +450
Willie Green Browns New Orleans Pelicans +600
Mike Brown Browns Sacramento Kings +650
J.B. Bickerstaff Browns Cleveland Cavaliers +1,100
Rick Carlisle Browns Indiana Pacers +1,200
Will Hardy Steelers Utah Jazz +1,500
Mike Budenholzer Browns Milwaukee Bucks +2,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook as of January 17, 2023.     

Latest NBA Coach of the Year award odds update

1/17/2023: Joe Mazzulla still leads the field, with Boston now righting the ship after a brief skid, winner of seven straight and now 4.5 games clear of second-place Brooklyn in the East. The Celtics still own the league's best net rating, and Mazzulla getting a quick response from his troops after their deflating blowout loss to OKC has helped his case, keeping Boston focused through the January doldrums. 

Speaking of Brooklyn, the Nets' charge up the East standings was halted by Kevin Durant's recent injury — likewise stalled, for now, has been coach Jacque Vaughn's bid to challenge Mazzulla for top COY odds, still a close second at +320.

Understanding NBA Coach of the Year odds 

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. We'll use 2019-20's Rookie of the Year race as an example: 

As the season progressed, with Ja Morant having been a huge favorite, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number: 

  • Ja Morant -500

This means that a bettor needs to wager $500 to win $100. Other candidates with worse odds would have a plus (+) sign ahead of the number. Early in the season, before any clear favorite is established, betting options will be listed as such: 

  • Zion Williamson +650

Here, a bettor stands to profit $650 for every $100 wagered. 

If American odds aren't your thing, simply use our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

Best NBA bonuses

Looking to do some NBA betting? Here are two of the best bonuses* available:

A) New users at FanDuel can bet $5 and get $150 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

B) New users at DraftKings can bet $5 and get $200 in bonus bets! Sign Up Now

*Eligible USA locations only. Also, check out our full list of best sportsbook promotions for 2022.

NBA Coach of the Year trends

  • Excluding COVID-altered schedules (2019-20, 2020-21) the Coach of the Year's team has won 55+ games in each of the past 10 seasons. 

  • Three coaches (Mike Budenholzer, Gregg Popovich, Tom Thibodeau) have won COY multiple times since 2011.

  • No rookie head coach has won Coach of the Year since Doc Rivers (2000).

  • Dating back to the award's inception in 1963, no coach has ever won COY in back-to-back seasons.

NBA Coach of the Year history

Year NBA Coach of the Year Winner Team
2021-22 Monty Williams  Phoenix Suns
2020-21 Tom Thibodeau  New York Knicks
2019-20 Nick Nurse  Toronto Raptors
2018-19 Mike Budenholzer Milwaukee Bucks
2017-18 Dwane Casey Toronto Raptors
2016-17 Mike D'Antoni  Houston Rockets
2015-16 Steve Kerr  Golden State Warriors
2014-15 Mike Budenholzer  Atlanta Hawks
2013-14 Gregg Popovich  San Antonio Spurs
2012-13 George Karl  Denver Nuggets
2011-12 Gregg Popovich  San Antonio Spurs
2010-11 Tom Thibodeau  Chicago Bulls
2009-10 Scott Brooks  Oklahoma City Thunder
2008-09 Mike Brown  Cleveland Cavaliers
2007-08 Byron Scott  New Orleans Hornets
2006-07 Sam Mitchell  Toronto Raptors
2005-06 Avery Johnson  Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Mike D'Antoni  Phoenix Suns
2003-04 Hubie Brown  Memphis Grizzlies
2002-03 Gregg Popovich  San Antonio Spurs

NBA Coach of the Year Odds FAQ

Pages related to this topic

Popular Content

Legal Canadian sports betting

Best Canadian betting sites Ontario sports betting
Covers 25 Years Logo Established in 1995,
Covers is the world
leader in sports
betting information.
Covers is verified safe by: Evalon Logo GPWA Logo GDPR Logo GeoTrust Logo Evalon Logo